The SemiColon Principle ;

5d54cd912a5b4ba3966e2cbd60ea8a13
A semicolon represents a sentence that the author could have ended, but decided not to.

What does this is basic punctuation mark mean to me?

I take from it, what I’m sure thousands of other take from it. That you are the author and the sentence is your life. Don’t just add a full stop when things get too much.

I can’t do this anymore.

I hate myself.

I want to die.

Use your semicolon. They are not hard to get hold of, hard to use in literature. It simple a dot and another dot underneath it with a tail. Write your words down or just say them out loud.

I can’t do this anymore; instead I am going to give my self harm tool to someone that I can trust and will then try other, safer stratagies, until I get better.

I hate myself; although there is someone out there that loves me and if they can love me, why can’t I? I have to live with myself day in day out, I might as well try and like this person.

I want to die; however I am stronger than this demon inside of my head. I want to live so I can finally stick two fingers up at it and be like ‘suck on that’.

To me the semicolon principle is about extension when your stuck. When used in a literacy sense, there is always room at the end of the line, even if you need to go onto another piece of paper, there is always room to extend that sentence. It doesn’t have to stop. Basically a sentence can go on and on, until it finally reaches a natural ending. That’s the same with us; we all have our own natural ending and sometimes we just need to remember the semicolon is there to remind us to keep on pushing. Extend the sentence and make it better, make it more impactful, humorous or knowledgeable. There is no reason why you can’t do that with your as well.

Robyn Sno

Leave a Reply

